This is the "Home" page of the "Genocide Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

A guide to online resources, including national and international law, secondary sources, databases, and journals and news.
Last Updated: Feb 26, 2014 URL: http://libraryguides.law.pace.edu/genocide Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Find Law Review and Journal Articles

Search the Print and E-Journals using the title of the journal or law review.

Search the Library Catalog using the title of the journal or law review. 

These two sources are complementary, so check both.  Both will list the databases (except for Westlaw and LexisNexis) that contain the full text of the journal.

If the law review or journal is not available the in Pace print or digital collection, check WorldCat to confirm its title.  You can also see what libraries do own the item. 

Use Interlibrary Loan to request an article from a law review or a journal that is not available in the Pace collection.

 

HeinOnline

HeinOnLine - Full text of selected law reviews; also available are the Foreign & Internat'l Law Resources Database; Harvard Research in Internat'l Law; Kluwer Law Internat'l Journal Library; and UN Law Collection. Access remotely using your Pace Portal user name and password.

 

Searching the Online Catalog

The Pace Online Catalog has records of materials held by all Pace University Libraries (Law, Birnbaum, Mortola, and Graduate Center), including records for books, law reviews and journals (NOT articles therein), government documents, CDs and videotapes, databases, materials professors place on reserve, and more. 

Access the Online Catalog from any computer through the Law Library website. Click the Online Catalog link.

Search the Online Catalog by Title, Author, or Keyword.

Note: Use an asterisk (*) to  truncate a word. Typing crim* will retrieve all words beginning with crim, including crime, crimes, and criminal.

Note: If you use a phrase in keyword searching and retrieve nothing, re-do the search inserting "and" between each keyword.

Note: To search by Subject, you need to know the Library of Congress Subject Heading assigned to your topic. To determine the exact Subject Heading:

  • Perform a Keyword search and find one item on your topic.
  • Scroll down to the bottom of the record to the assigned Subject(s). Example: Income tax--Laws and legislation--United States.
  • Click on a specific Subject to search for other items with the same heading.

View Results: A list of up to twelve items appears on each screen. Click Next, Prev, or the Result Page number to move  through the list of results. To see a particular record, click on the underlined title, author or subject.

Limit/Modify Results if you have retrieved too many results. Specify a particular library location, publication date, or add additional words to your search. 

Locate Materials in the Library: The full item record provides its location, call number, and status. LOCATION is the Pace Library that has an item. Materials at another Pace library may be ordered via Intercampus Loan; check "Request" to the right of the record. CALL NO. shows where an item is shelved in the Library. STATUS indicates an item is currently available, checked out, missing, etc. 

Journal entries indicate the bound volumes the library has and the latest issue received. Bound volumes and current issues are on the first stack level in call number order. Pre-1996 journals are in storage and must be requested at the Circulation Desk; many are also available from HeinOnLine. Online journals have "Online" after the title. Click on the entry to see where they are available online. 

Obtaining materials from other libraries. If the book you need is not owned by any Pace University library, click "ConnectNY" to search the online catalogs of the academic libraries in this consortium. Check "Request This Item" to borrow a specific book. If the material you want is not available at any ConnectNY library, you can
 request the material online through Interlibrary Loan.

 

Searching for Articles

Articles from legal publications can be found through online and print indexes.

Legal Source indexes articles from 1,400+ major academic and commercial law reviews, international legal journals, legal newspapers, and specialty law and bar association journals from 1980 to the present. Use Pace Portal to access off campus.

The default is a "Subject Guide" search. It searches the subject headings in the database. If your enter a designated subject heading, a list of the articles under that heading will be produced. If your search term is not an designated subject heading, the result will be a list of subjects that contain that term.

Other search options are:

  • Relevance Search, which looks for words and word variants, alone and in combination.
  • Keyword Search lets you match words in the articles themselves, not just controlled index terms.
  • Advanced Search, which allows for a search by Keywords, Date, Journal name, Subject, Title, Author, Abstract, Content, or Record number.

The same information can also be accessed through Westlaw's Legal Resource Index database (LRI). One benefit of using Westlaw is that hyperlinks are provided when the full text of a document is available.

Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective is an online index of law reviews, journals, and newsletters from 1908-1981.  Includes links to articles in HeinOnLine via WilsonLink.

Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (IFLP) is an online index to multilingual articles published worldwide on public and private international law, comparative law, and the municipal law of countries other than the U.S. 

New York Times (Historical) contains the searchable full text from 1851 to 2004.  

Locate Print Law Reviews for the last 10 years on the first stack level. Law reviews published prior to the last 10 years are stored off-site and will be retrieved by library staff upon request.  

My Profile

Profile Image
Lucie Olejnikova
Logo - FacebookLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
Reference / Electronic Services Librarians & Adjunct Professor of Law
Pace University School of Law Library
Gerber Glass 201 C
White Plains, NY, 10603
914-422-4339
Send Email
 

Relevant Subject Headings

Convention on the Prevention and Punishment of the Crime of Genocide (1948)

Crimes against humanity

Criminal liability (International law)

Government liability (International law)

Holocaust, Jewish (1939-1945)

Human rights

International criminal courts

International offenses

Jurisdiction (International law)

Trials (Genocide)  

War crime trials

War crimes

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip