Admin Sign In 

Expanding Your Research Skills: Beyond Westlaw and Lexis  Tags: legal_research upper_level_students databases internet_legal_research  

This guide was created for upper level orientation at Pace Law School for 2L day and evening students.
Last update: Sep 10th, 2009 URL: http://libraryguides.law.pace.edu/expanding  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home             Print Page
  
 

Introduction

There is more to online research than Westlaw, Lexis, and Google.  The Law Library subscribes to a number of useful databases that cover things not covered in Westlaw or Lexis, or present similar information in a more user-friendly way.

Additionally, the undergrad libraries at Pace subscribe to a wide range of databases in the social sciences, arts, humanities, business, science, and many other disciplines.  These can be invaluable when researching an interdisciplinary topic.

Database Passwords

  • Passwords for Law Library Databases  
    Although most of our databases are IP accessed, several have passwords. These are available via the Law Library on TWEN site, available to all Pace Law students, faculty, and staff with Westlaw passwords.
 

General Law Databases

These are just some of the law-related databases available--many more are available via the Law Library Databases page.

  • BNA Databases  
    Includes all BNA databases in a wide variety of practice areas, including bankruptcy, health, environmental, corporate, labor, intellectual property, energy, securities and tax. These databases are also available on Lexis and Westlaw.
  • HeinOnline  
    Full text of selected law reviews; Code of Federal Regulations; English Reports; Full Reprint (1220-1865); European Center for Minority Issues; Federal Register Library; Foreign & International Law Resources Database; Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS); Harvard Research in International Law; Kluwer Law International Journal Library; Legal Classics; Manual of Patent Examining Procedure; Taxation & Economic Reform in America; and more.
  • Loislaw  
    Offers to primary sources of law. No restrictions on summer use for students.
  • Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises, 1800-1926  
    Includes primary documents contained within the Nineteenth Century Legal Treatises and Twentieth Century Legal Treatises collections. Allows full-text searching of more than 21,000 works from casebooks, local practice manuals, form books, works for lay readers, pamphlets, letters, speeches and more — all separated into 99 subject areas.
  • Making of Modern Law: Trials, 1600-1926  
    Allows full-text searching of books about constitutionally important and historically notorious trials from the U.S., U.K., and the world. Important historical cases include Dred Scott, the Scopes “Monkey” Trial and Amistad. Useful for historical research into a wide variety of legal and sociological issues, including sex, gender, class, marriage, and divorce.
  • PACER  
    PACER (Public Access to Court Electronic Records) provides access to case and docket information for Federal Appellate, District, and Bankruptcy courts.

Indexes

  • LegalTrac  
    Index with some full text, covers a broader range of law reviews, legal newspapers, and bar journals than the journal databases on Westlaw and Lexis. Coverage begins in 1980.
  • Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals  
    Multilingual index to articles published worldwide. Covers public and private international law, and comparative and municipal law of countries other than the U.S. Most of the material covered here is not available on Lexis or Westlaw.
  • Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective  
    Index of law reviews, journals, and newsletters from 1908-1981. Includes links to full-text of articles in Hein Online.
 

My Profile

Cynthia Pittson
Contact Info:
Head of Reference Services and Adjunct Professor of Law
Pace Law Library
Gerber Glass 201E
White Plains, NY 10603
914-422-4482
Send Email

Pace VPN

  • VPN Client  
    Scroll down, click Download VPN Client, and follow the instructions. The Cisco Secure VPN client allows you to connect to Pace's network via the Internet. This allows you to access resources that would otherwise be unavailable off campus.
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait