Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Guide for First-Year Law Students  Tags: law_students 1l survival_guide torts civil_procedure contracts criminal_law legal_research legal_writing  

This guide will aid new law students in preparing for and surviving the first year of law school. It includes books, audio and video resources, and websites on survival skills and first year courses. Also includes books for international students.
Last update: Jul 09th, 2009 URL: http://libraryguides.law.pace.edu/firstyear  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Legal Research             Print Page
  

CALI Lessons

  • Lessons on legal research  
    Lessons on many topics in legal research.
  • CALI code  
    If you haven't registered for CALI click here for the authorization code you'll need to set up your account. You only need the code once, after that sign in with your email address and password.

Websites

  • Findlaw  
    Findlaw is a portal for legal resources, including primary sources of law, legal documents, and commentary.
  • Guide to Law Online  
    Law Library of Congress guide to sources of information on government and law available on the Internet. Includes links to reliable sites for legal information on U.S., international, and foreign law.
  • Legal Information Institute  
    Cornell Law School site, provides link to primary sources of federal and state law.
  • Lexis Law School website  
    Includes tutorials on using Lexis and Sheaprd's, along with an Interactive Citation Workshop on the Bluebook http://www.lexisnexis.com/icw/.
  • LLRX.com  
    Law and technology resources for legal professionals, includes guides to researching various areas of law.
  • Thomas  
    Library of Congress webiste makes federal legislative information freely available to the public. Includes bills, Congressional reports, hearings, votes, debates, and public laws.
  • Westlaw Law School website  
    Includes a variety of tutorial on researching on Westlaw, including a KeyCite tutorial.

More Books

 
 

Books

 
 

Primary or Secondary?

Primary sources of law come from one of the three branches of government, either federal or state.

  • Case law (from the judiciary--federal and state courts)
  • Statutory law, including constitutions (from the legislature--Congress and state legislatures)
  • Regulations and administrative decisions (from the executive--the President or the Governor)

Secondary sources are everything that is not a primary source,  They explain, discuss or analyze the law, and include treatises, hornbooks, dictionaries, nutshell, and study aids.

 

Audio & Video Resources

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait