Ukraine Crisis Information: for background studies on Ukraine and Crimea leading up to the current crisis, the following sources may be useful:
- U.S. Dep't of State: U.S. Relations With Ukraine - http://www.state.gov/r/pa/ei/bgn/3211.htm
- European Sources - the European Union's Institute for Security Studies http://www.iss.europa.eu/; the British Ministry of Defence's Defence Academy http://www.da.mod.uk/publications/library.
Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (Pub. L. 111-148, 124 Stat. 119 (March 23, 2010) - also learn the steps to getting covered in the Health Insurance Marketplace at https://www.healthcare.gov/blog/4-steps-to-getting-covered-in-the-health-insurance-marketplace/.
In Nat'l Fed'n of Indep. Bus. v. Sebelius, 132 S. Ct. 2566, 183 L. Ed. 2d 450 (2012), the U.S. Supreme Court concluded that the individual mandate was a “tax” that was within Congress's taxing powers and that the statute was therefore constitutional.
In King v. Burwell, Docket No. 14-114, the Supreme Court will hear arguments on March 4, 2015, on whether the Internal Revenue Service may permissibly promulgate regulations to extend tax-credit subsidies to coverage purchased through exchanges established by the federal government under Section 1321 of the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act.
Voting Rights Act of 1965 (Pub.L. 89-110, § 15, 79 Stat. 445 (1965), 42 U.S.C. § 1971 et seq.) - struck down in part in Shelby County v. Holder, No. 12-96, Argued Feb. 27, 2013, Decided June 25, 2013, 570 U.S. --.
Same-Sex Marriage in the United States - a CNN map of status of same-sex marriage laws in the United States.
Guide to Law Online: Ukraine (Library of Congress)
Guide to Law Online: Syria (Library of Congress)
Unified Agenda of Regulatory and Deregulatory Actions (Current) (Semiannual).
Law Library of Congress: In Custodia Legis
The blog of the Law Library of Congress:
U.S. Government - Periodicals
The U.S. Government publishes an enormous number of magazines and newsletters on a wide range of subjects. A list of the publications of individual government departments and agencies can often, but not always, be found on their websites. The University of Louisville Libraries have put together a comprehensive list of government periodicals.
UNITED STATES GOVERNMENT INFORMATION
U.S. Government Information Web Portals
This research guide contains links to federal government information: the President, Executive Departments, Congress and federal legislative information, federal courts and legal opinions, and federal agencies:
FDSys: The U.S. Government Publishing Office database is the official government digital information source, publishing authenticated Public and Private Laws, the United States Code, the Federal Register, the Code of Federal Regulations, congressional bills and resolutions, and presidential papers.
Core Documents of U.S. Democracy: Historical U.S. federal government publications including the Articles of Confederation, Declaration of Independence, the Constitution, the Bill of Rights, and current important documents from all branches of the federal government.
USA.gov: The main portal to federal government information useful to citizens, international visitors, businesses, and government employees. See a subject listing of contents on the USA.gov Reference Center and General Government page.
United States Government Manual: Provides comprehensive information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches of the United States; information on quasi-official agencies and international organizations in which the United States participates; and federal boards, commissions, and committees. The Manual also contains the texts of the Declaration of Independence, the U.S. Constitution, and a federal government organization chart.
Library of Congress: The nation's oldest federal cultural institution, the Library of Congress is also the largest library in the world. It serves as the research arm of Congress.
- Congress.gov (replacing the Thomas website) contains current pending legislation and legislative history information and links.
- A Century of Lawmaking archives historical U.S. legislative information. It is also the largest library in the world.
- Government Web Resources publishes links to numerous government websites and information sources, as well as to international information and organizations.
- The Law Library of Congress links to U.S. federal and state, and foreign and international legal resources through its Guide to Law Online. The Global Legal Monitor webpage covers news and discussions of current legal topics worldwide..
Fedworld.gov: Established and maintained by the Department of Commerce and National Technical Information Service (NTIS) "to serve as the online locator service for a comprehensive inventory of information disseminated by the federal government."
A - Z Index of U.S. Government Departments and Agencies: A comprehensive list of federal, state, local, and tribal government agency and department websites, from USA.gov.
Federal Agency Directory: Directory of federal boards, commissions, and committees; executive agencies; independent agencies; judicial agencies; legislative agencies; and quasi-official agencies, from Louisiana State University.
Government Information on the Web Subject Index - (Louis J. Blume Library, St. Mary's University) - a useful subject index to research guides for government information on the web.
U.S. Census Bureau - Population, economic, and demographic information compiled from the United States Census conducted every ten years. State and County QuickFacts provides access to selected statistical information by geographic area. A helpful research guide on finding census information is available from the University of Michigan Library.
U.S. Government on YouTube: USA.gov's YouTube page features channels from the White House, NASA, the State Department, the Centers for Disease Control, the IRS, the Library of Congress, and many more.
Great Government Information Resources
Many universities, law schools, and others maintain web pages on U.S. government information. Below are just a few:
Legal Information Institute (LII) (Cornell Law School) - links to federal and state court opinions, statutes, and regulations,as well as international law.
Washlaw: Legal Information on the Web (Washburn University Law School) - federal, state (including administrative codes), local,and international law sources.
Government Information Library (University of Colorado at Boulder) - items from state, national, and international governmental agencies..
American Law Sources Online - portal to sources of U.S., Canadian, and Mexican law. Most Mexican sources are in Spanish.
ConSource - a free online library of constitutional history, with more than 11,000 historical documents relating to the U.S. Constitution and amendments.
Zimmerman's Research Guide (LexisNexis) - free online legal encyclopedia and research guide.
Richard S. McKinney, Internet and Online Sources of U.S. Legislative and Regulatory Information (Law Librarians' Society of the District of Columbia (LLSDC), available at http://www.llsdc.org/attachments/wysiwyg/544/internet.pdf.
U.S. Government Forms
USA.gov: Government Forms - the U.S. Government's official hub for federal forms.
U.S. Courts - Forms - forms for federal courts, sorted by category.
IRS Forms - the official source of IRS tax products.
Government Information for Kids
Kids.gov (Grades K - 8) - the official kids' portal for the U.S. Government.
Ben's Guide to U.S. Government for Kids - Ben's Guide is a civics course online, full of government information presented in a colorful format and organized by grade level.
State Websites for Kids (Grades K - 8).
U.S. Diplomacy Center, Kids and Youth Web Pages - links to U.S. embassy web pages for young people around the world.
EPA's Students' Page - games, quizzes and "other cool stuff."
FBI - Kids - learn about the FBI through games, tips, stories, and interactive activities.
CDC Websites for Kids and Teens - health and environment information and links to other federal websites.
A Listing of Government Agency Pages for Kids (LegalMatch) - this is a commercial website, but it links to federal government agency information pages for young people (with thanks to Monument Charter School).