Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Free and Low Cost Resources for Legal Research  Tags: legal_research free_legal_research internet_legal_research  

When you don't have access to Westlaw or Lexis, use these free or low cost resources for legal research
Last update: Nov 06th, 2009 URL: http://libraryguides.law.pace.edu/free  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Case Law             Print Page
  
 

New York Criminal Law Library Blog


Loading RSS Feed...
 

New York Civil Law Blog


Loading RSS Feed...

NY Law Update

 

Free Case Law Resources

  • U.S. Supreme Court  
    Official website, with dockets, opinions, court rules, transcripts, briefs, and oral arguments.
  • The Supreme Court Database  
    Currently includes cases and analysis for Supreme Court cases beginning with 1953. It recently received a grant from the NSF, and will eventually include all Supreme Court cases back to 1792.
  • Federal Courts  
    Official website for federal judiciary, includes links to all federal courts of appeals and district courts.
  • State Courts  
    Cornell's LII has links to the state court websites for all 50 states.
  • New York Unified Court System  
    Official website, includes links to the Court of Appeals, Appellate Division, Supreme Court, Family Court, Surrogate's Court, and others. Includes E-Courts system, which allows case tracking.
  • Findlaw  
    Searchable database of decisions from federal and state courts.
  • Public Library of the Law  
    Searchable database of all federal cases from the Supreme Court and Courts of Appeals and state cases beginning with 1997.
  • AltLaw  
    Access to Supreme Court cases since 1805 and Courts of Appeals cases since 1950. Allows bulk downloading of case law.
  • Justia  
    Access to all Supreme Court cases, Courts of Appeals cases beginning with 1950, district court cases beginning with 2004, some state case law. Allows browsing by type of lawsuit.
  • LexisOne  
    Free access to all Supreme Court cases and the last 10 years of state and federal cases.
  • PreCYdent  
    Free access to all Supreme Court cases, Courts of Appeals cases beginning with 1950, district court cases beginning with 2004, and state case law. State case law coverage varies depending on the jurisdiction, some begin in 1992, others more recently.
 

Comments and Suggestions

Was this information helpful?
Not
useful
   Extremely
useful
 
 

SCOTUS Blog


Loading RSS Feed...
 

Recent New York Cases


Loading RSS Feed...
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait