This is the "Home" page of the "Examination and Cross-Examination: Getting the Facts" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Examination and Cross-Examination: Getting the Facts   Tags: criminal_law, cross-examination, direct_examination, expert_witness, trial_practice, witness  

Trial transcrips and practice materials on the examination of witnesses
Last Updated: Oct 29, 2013 URL: http://libraryguides.law.pace.edu/witness Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Relevant Subject Headings

Cross-Examination

Evidence, Expert

Evidence (Law)

Examination of Witnesses

Forensic sciences

Mock trials

Moot court

Trial practice

Witnesses

 

Searching the Online Catalog

Pace Online Catalog has records of items held by Pace University Libraries (Law, Birnbaum, Mortola, Graduate Center), including books, law reviews/journals (NOT articles within), government documents, CDs and videos, databases, professors' reserve materials, and more. 

Access the Online Catalog from any computer through the Law Library website. Click the Online Catalog link.

Search the Online Catalog by Title, Author, or Keyword.

Note: Use an asterisk (*) to  truncate a word. Typing crim* will retrieve all words beginning with crim, including crime, crimes, and criminal.

Note: If you use a phrase in keyword searching and retrieve nothing, re-do the search inserting "and" between each keyword.

Note: To search by Subject, you need to know the Library of Congress Subject Heading assigned to your topic. To determine the exact Subject Heading:

  • Perform a Keyword search and find one item on your topic.
  • Scroll down to the bottom of the record to the assigned Subject(s). Example: Income tax--Laws and legislation--United States.
  • Click on a specific Subject to search for other items with the same heading.

View Results: A list of up to twelve items appears on each screen. Click Next, Prev, or the Result Page number to move  through the list of results. To see a particular record, click on the underlined title, author or subject.

Limit/Modify Results if you have retrieved too many results. Specify a particular library location, publication date, or add additional words to your search. 

Locate Materials in the Library: A full item record provides location, call number, and status. LOCATION is the Pace Library that has an item. Materials at other Pace libraries may be ordered via Intercampus Loan; check "Request" to the right of the record. CALL NO. shows where an item is shelved. STATUS indicates if an item is available, checked out, missing, etc. 

Journal entries indicate the bound volumes and latest issue received. Bound volumes and current issues are on the first stack level. Pre-1996 journals are in storage (request the Circulation Desk); many are also available from HeinOnLine. Online journals have "Online" after the title. Click on the entry to see where they are available. 

Obtaining materials from other libraries. If the book you need is not owned by any Pace University library, click "ConnectNY" to search online catalogs of academic libraries in this consortium. Check "Request This Item" to get a specific book. If the material you want is not held by any ConnectNY library,
request the material online through Interlibrary Loan.

 

Searching for Articles

Articles from legal publications can be found through online and print indexes.

 LegalTrac indexes articles from 1,400+ major academic and commercial law reviews, international legal journals, legal newspapers, and specialty law and bar association journals from 1980 to the present. Use Pace Portal to access off campus.

The default is a "Subject Guide" search of subject headings in the database. If you enter a designated subject heading, a list of articles under that heading is produced. If your search term is not an designated subject heading, the result is a list of subjects containing that term.

Other search options are:

  • Relevance Search for words and word variants, alone and in combination.
  • Keyword Search for words in the articles themselves, not just controlled index terms.
  • Advanced Search for Keywords, Date, Journal name, Subject, Title, Author, Abstract, Content, or Record number.

The same information is available in Westlaw's Legal Resource Index database (LRI). A benefit of using Westlaw is that available full text documents are hyperlinked.

Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective is an online index of law reviews, journals, and newsletters from 1908-1981.  Includes links to articles in HeinOnLine 

Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (IFLP) is an online index to articles published worldwide on public and private international law, comparative law, and non-U.S. municipal law.

New York Times (Historical) contains the searchable full text from 1851 to 2009.  

Print Law Reviews for the last 10 years are on the first stack level. Law reviews published prior to that time are stored off-site and will be retrieved by library staff upon request.  

Associate Library Director

Profile Image
Jack McNeill
Contact Info
Pace Law Library
Glass Rm 201F
78 North Broadway
White Plains, NY 10603
914-422-4414
Send Email
 

Find Law Review and Journal Articles

Search the Print and E-Journals using the title of the journal or law review.

Search the Library Catalog using the title of the journal or law review. 

These two sources are complementary, so check both.  Both will list the databases (except for Westlaw and LexisNexis) that contain the full text of the journal.

If the law review or journal is not available the in Pace print or digital collection, check WorldCat to confirm its title.  You can also see what libraries do own the item. 

Use Interlibrary Loan to request an article from a law review or a journal that is not available in the Pace collection.

 

HeinOnline

HeinOnLine - Full text of selected law reviews; also available are Legal Classics, the U.S. Supreme Court Library, and the World Trials Library. Access remotely using your Pace Portal user name and password.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip