Aging InmatesDisabled InmatesJuvenilesLGBT InmatesMentally Ill InmatesWomen and GirlsImmigration Detainees
CensorshipClassificationCollateral Consequences - also see VOTINGConditions of ConfinementCosts of ConfinementCruel and Unusual PunishmentDeath PenaltyDetaineesDrug and Alcohol TreatmentDrug Testing
Oversight of Prisons and JailsParentingPovertyPrivacyPrivate PrisonsProcreationRace and RacismRe-entryReligionSex OffendersViolenceVisitationVoting
EducationGerrymanderingHealthLabor and EmploymentLaw Libraries/Legal AssistanceLibrary Services (General) - also see CensorshipMarriage/Civil UnionsMental Health
This is the "Home" page of the "Prisoners' Rights Law Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Prisoners' Rights Law Resources   Tags: criminal_law, eighth_amendment, human_rights, inmates, prisoners  

A gateway to information on prisoners' rights, including federal, state, and international primary and secondary sources, in print and online, with a particular focus on special populations and topical issues.
Last Updated: Apr 9, 2014 URL: http://libraryguides.law.pace.edu/prisoners Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Research Guides

 

Find Law Review and Journal Articles

Search the Print and E-Journals using the title of the journal or law review.

Search the Library Catalog using the title of the journal or law review. 

These two sources are complementary, so check both.  Both will list the databases (except for Westlaw and LexisNexis) that contain the full text of the journal.

If the law review or journal is not available the in Pace print or digital collection, check WorldCat to confirm its title.  You can also see what libraries do own the item. 

Use Interlibrary Loan to request an article from a law review or a journal that is not available in the Pace collection.

 

HeinOnline

HeinOnLine - Full text of selected law reviews; also available are the Legal Classics Library, Foreign & Internat'l Law Resources Database; Nat'l Conference of Commissioners on Uniform State Laws - Archive Publications;Subject Compilations of State Laws; U.S. Attorney General Opinions; U.S. Congressional Documents Library; Federal Agency Documents, Decisons, and Appeals; Federal Legislative History Library, and U.S. Supreme Court Library. Access remotely using your Pace Portal user name and password.

 

Searching the Online Catalog

The Pace Online Catalog has records of materials held by all Pace University Libraries (Law, Birnbaum, Mortola, and Graduate Center), including records for books, law reviews and journals (NOT articles therein), government documents, CDs and videotapes, databases, materials professors place on reserve, and more. 

Access the Online Catalog from any computer through the Law Library website. Click the Online Catalog link.

Search the Online Catalog by Title, Author, or Keyword.

Note: Use an asterisk (*) to  truncate a word. Typing crim* will retrieve all words beginning with crim, including crime, crimes, and criminal.

Note: If you use a phrase in keyword searching and retrieve nothing, re-do the search inserting "and" between each keyword.

Note: To search by Subject, you need to know the Library of Congress Subject Heading assigned to your topic. To determine the exact Subject Heading:

  • Perform a Keyword search and find one item on your topic.
  • Scroll down to the bottom of the record to the assigned Subject(s). Example: Income tax--Laws and legislation--United States.
  • Click on a specific Subject to search for other items with the same heading.

View Results: A list of up to twelve items appears on each screen. Click Next, Prev, or the Result Page number to move  through the list of results. To see a particular record, click on the underlined title, author or subject.

Limit/Modify Results if you have retrieved too many results. Specify a particular library location, publication date, or add additional words to your search. 

Locate Materials in the Library: The full item record provides its location, call number, and status. LOCATION is the Pace Library that has an item. Materials at another Pace library may be ordered via Intercampus Loan; check "Request" to the right of the record. CALL NO. shows where an item is shelved in the Library. STATUS indicates an item is currently available, checked out, missing, etc. 

Journal entries indicate the bound volumes the library has and the latest issue received. Bound volumes and current issues are on the first stack level in call number order. Pre-1996 journals are in storage and must be requested at the Circulation Desk; many are also available from HeinOnLine. Online journals have "Online" after the title. Click on the entry to see where they are available online. 

Obtaining materials from other libraries. If the book you need is not owned by any Pace University library, click "ConnectNY" to search the online catalogs of the academic libraries in this consortium. Check "Request This Item" to borrow a specific book. If the material you want is not available at any ConnectNY library, you can
 request the material online through Interlibrary Loan.

 

Searching for Articles

Articles from legal publications can be found through online and print indexes.

Legal Source includes 870 full-text journals and detailed indexing for legal journals, law reviews, yearbooks, institutes, statutes, bar association publications, university publications and government publications | Available on campus and off campus using your Pace Portal user name and password. Use Pace Portal to access off campus.

Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective is an online index of law reviews, journals, and newsletters from 1908-1981.  Includes links to articles in HeinOnLine via WilsonLink.

Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (IFLP) is an online index to multilingual articles published worldwide on public and private international law, comparative law, and the municipal law of countries other than the U.S. 

New York Times (Historical) contains the searchable full text from 1851 to 2004.  

Locate Print Law Reviews for the last 10 years on the first stack level. Law reviews published prior to the last 10 years are stored off-site and will be retrieved by library staff upon request.  

Profile

Margaret Moreland
Contact Info
Lawyer/Librarian and Adjunct Professor of Law
Pace Law Library
Gerber Glass 201C
78 North Broadway
White Plains, NY 10603
(914) 422-4358
Send Email
 

Relevant Subject Headings

Correctional law

Correctional personnel -- Legal status, laws, etc.

Detention of persons

Ex-convicts -- Suffrage

Grievance procedures for prisoners

Imprisonment

Legal assistance to prisoners

Mentally ill prisoners -- Legal status, laws, etc. 

Prison administration

Prison violence

Prisoners

Prisoners -- Abuse of

Prisoners -- Civil rights  

Prisoners -- Legal status, laws, etc.

Prisoners Medical Care

Prisoners Mental Health

Prisoners -- Religious life

Prisons -- Law and legislation

Prisons -- Visits and correspondence with inmates

Punishment

United States -- Constitution -- Amendments -- 8th  

United States. Prison Litigation Reform Act of 1996

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip