Skip to main content

Collection

This guide includes information about the collection at Pace Law Library, including our collection development policy and policies for environmental material, government documents, intercampus and interlibrary loan, and weeding.

Archives Policy

The Archives of Elisabeth Haub School of Law is the official repository for the Law School’s historical records.  Its purpose is twofold:  1) to collect documents and any other records of the Law School’s history from its establishment in 1976 to the present time; and 2) to provide source materials for members of the Law School community, as well as scholars and other persons interested in researching the Law School, its history, and the many activities of significance to the broader legal community that take place here.  The Elisabeth Haub School of Law Archives goals are:

  • To collect, organize, preserve, and make available, as appropriate, records of historical, legal, and administrative value to Elisabeth Haub School of Law;
  • To promote knowledge and appreciation of the mission, programs, and activities of Elisabeth Haub School of Law;
  • To encourage use of the collection by persons seeking to support the Law School’s curriculum, stimulate teaching, and serve research, scholarship, and intellectual exploration;
  • To provide adequate facilities for, and records management of, the collection;
  • To permit ready access to materials therein while protecting and preserving these records for future use;
  • To provide information services to aid in administration of Elisabeth Haub School of Law.

The collection development policy for the Archives is based on the Society of American Archivists’ Guidelines for College and University Archives (1983). Archival materials are maintained at the Law Library in a designated archives space, and are stored in acid-free archival folders and boxes to preserve them in accordance with accepted archival standards.

The Archives relies on the cooperation and support of administrators, deans, directors, faculty, students, and alumni to ensure that materials of historical value to the Elisabeth Haub School of Law community are collected and preserved.

The Archives seeks to gather materials in the following categories from all members of the Law School community:

Official publications of the Law School, including the Pace Law Review, Pace Environmental Law Review, Pace International Law Review, Pace Law School Yearbook, student newspapers and newsletters, and all other regular Law School publications;

  • All publications, newsletters, and booklets distributed in the name of Elisabeth Haub School of Law, including catalogs, special bulletins, directories and faculty/staff rosters, alumni publications, and ephemeral materials;
  • Maps, prints, architectural drawings, and other records documenting the physical changes and development of the Law School;
  • Announcements, invitations, press releases, brochures, agendas, programs, and other materials relating to meetings and special events held at Elisabeth Haub School of Law;
  • Reports of research projects, records of professional activities, and publications by members of the Law School community and alumni, as well as theses prepared by candidates for Doctor of Juridical Science degrees, and permanent links to publications by members of the Law School community in digital format;
  • Photoprints, negatives, slides, audio and video film, oral history interviews, and related materials documenting the development and activities of the Law School; and
  • Artifacts relating to the history of Elisabeth Haub School of Law.

Records designated as archival should be inactive and not currently in use in the activities of the originating office.  Two (2) copies of each record for the Elisabeth Haub School of Law Archives should be submitted to Gail F. Whittemore, Special Collections Librarian, Pace Law Library, 78 North Broadway, White Plains, NY 10603, telephone: (914) 422-4357; fax: (914) 422-4412; email: gwhittemore@law.pace.edu.