Collection of online resources providing immigration law information & assistance, including laws, federal agencies, U.S., International, region- and subject-specific organizations, agencies, and institutes.
These regulations apply the law to daily situations. After regulations are published in the Federal Register, they are collected and published in the Code of Federal Regulations, commonly referred to as the CFR. The CFR is arranged by subject title and generally parallels the structure of the United States Code. Thus, Title 8 of the CFR deals with "Aliens and Nationality", as does Title 8 of the U.S. Code.
Includes Adjudicator's Field Manual, Guidance on Uniform Denial Language Pertaining to Appeals to the Board of Immigration Appeals, Revisions to Adjudicator's Field Manual (AFM) Chapter 10.7(b) (AFM Update AD10-25), M-274 Handbook for Employers.
On November 19, 1997, President Clinton signed into law the Nicaraguan Adjustment and Central American Relief Act (NACARA). NACARA provides various forms of immigration benefits and relief from deportation to certain Nicaraguans, Cubans, Salvadorans, Guatemalans, nationals of former Soviet bloc countries and their dependents.
Section 203 of NACARA ("NACARA 203") applies to certain Guatemalans, Salvadorans and nationals of former Soviet bloc countries who entered the United States by specified dates and applied for asylum or registered for benefits under the settlement agreement in the class action lawsuit American Baptist Churches v. Thornburgh, 760 F. Supp. 796 (N.D. Cal. 1991) (ABC).
he Immigration and Nationality Act (INA) has been amended many times. When Congress enacts a law, it generally does not re-write the entire body of law, or even entire sections of a law, but instead adds to or changes specific words within a section.
The USCIS Administrative Appeals Office (AAO) has jurisdiction over the appeals from decisions on most immigration petitions and applications that are entered by USCIS regional service centers and district offices.
Includes information about BIA Precedent Decisions, BIA Practice Manual, Recognition & Accreditation, Fact Sheet: Board of Immigration Appeals: Final Rule, Attorney General Issues Final Rule Reforming Board of Immigration Appeals Procedures.
Also includes info about areas of responsibilities, how to file a complaint, information about the conduct of an immigration judge, report concerns/complaints about interpreters
list of administrative control courts.
To adjudicate immigration cases by fairly, expeditiously, and uniformly interpreting and administering the Nation's immigration laws. The Executive Office for Immigration Review (EOIR) was created on January 9, 1983, through an internal Department of Justice (DOJ) reorganization which combined the Board of Immigration Appeals (BIA or Board) with the Immigration Judge function previously performed by the former Immigration and Naturalization Service (INS) (now part of the Department of Homeland Security).
The Executive Office for Immigration Review (EOIR) was created on January 9, 1983, through an internal Department of Justice (DOJ) reorganization which combined the Board of Immigration Appeals (BIA or Board) with the Immigration Judge function previously performed by the former Immigration and Naturalization Service (INS) (now part of the Department of Homeland Security). Besides establishing EOIR as a separate agency within DOJ, this reorganization made the Immigration Courts independent of INS, the agency charged with enforcement of Federal immigration laws. The Office of the Chief Administrative Hearing Officer (OCAHO) was added in 1987.
Provides background information, organizational breakdown and information, EOIR legal orientation & pro bono program, immigration courts nationwide, statistics and publication, contact information, responsibilities, news, FOIA information, EOIR forms, virtual law library, and employment opportunities.
The Office of the Chief Administrative Hearing Officer has jurisdiction over three types of cases arising under the Immigration and Nationality Act as amended (INA), including those involving allegations of: (1) knowingly hiring, recruiting or referring for a fee or the continued employment of unauthorized aliens and failure to comply with employment verification requirements in violation of section 274A (PDF) of the INA (employer sanctions); (2) immigration-related unfair employment practices in violation of section 274B (PDF) of the INA; and (3) immigration-related document fraud in violation of section 274C (PDF) of the INA.
The Office of the Chief Immigration Judge (OCIJ) provides overall program direction, articulates policies and procedures, and establishes priorities for more than 230 immigration judges located in more than 55 immigration courts throughout the Nation.
Precedent decisions" are administrative decisions of the Administrative Appeals Office (AAO), the Board of Immigration Appeals (BIA), and the Attorney General, which are selected and designated as precedent by the Secretary of the Department of Homeland Security (DHS), the BIA, and the Attorney General, respectively.
Completed Cases and Completion Time in Immigration Courts. By state, hearing center, court location or nationality. Cases can be viewed by removals, voluntary departures, terminations (no grounds for removal), and relief granted.
Its principal purposes are: (1) to establish sentencing policies and practices for the
federal courts, including guidelines to be consulted regarding the appropriate form and severity
of punishment for offenders convicted of federal crimes; (2) to advise and assist Congress and the
executive branch in the development of effective and efficient crime policy; and (3) to collect,
analyze, research, and distribute a broad array of information on federal crime and sentencing issues,
serving as an information resource for Congress, the executive branch, the courts, criminal justice
practitioners, the academic community, and the public.