The Charter of the United Nations was signed on 26 June 1945, in San Francisco, at the conclusion of the United Nations Conference on International Organisation, and came into force on 24 October 1945. The Statute of the International Court of Justice is an integral part of the Charter.
Available in Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Russian, and Spanish.
General Assembly resolution 3314 (XXIX), with the Definition of Aggression annexed to it, was adopted on 14 December 1974 after protracted intergovernmental negotiations. The Definition has scarcely ever been used for its primary purpose as a guide to the Security Council in determining aggression by States. It has now taken on a new life as a source for discussion of the definition of the individual crime of aggression within the jurisdiction of the International Criminal Court.
It is understood as the law in force in Timor-Leste on 19 May 2002, in terms of article 1 of Law 2/2002 of 7 August, as every Indonesian law which was applied and was ‘de facto’ in force in East Timor, before the 25 October 1999 in terms of UNTAET Regulation 1/1999.
The text of the Rome Statute reproduced herein was originally circulated as document A/CONF.183/9 of 17 July 1998 and corrected by procès-verbaux of 10 November 1998, 12 July 1999, 30 November 1999, 8 May 2000, 17 January 2001 and 16 January 2002.
Article 1: The International Court of Justice established by the Charter of the United Nations as the principal judicial organ of the United Nations shall be constituted and shall function in accordance with the provisions of the present Statute.
2007 and 2010 versions of the statute are available in English and French.
Having received the request of the Government of Rwanda (S/1994/1115), to establish an international tribunal for the sole purpose of prosecuting persons responsible for genocide and other serious violations of International Humanitarian Law committed in the territory of Rwanda and Rwandan citizens responsible for genocide and other such violations committed in the territory of neighbouring States, between 1 January 1994 and 31 December 1994 and to this end to adopt the Statute of the International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda annexed hereto.
Includes updated 2009 statute and list of relevant UN resolutions.
Having been established by the Security Council acting under Chapter VII of the Charter of the United Nations, the International Tribunal for the Prosecution of Persons Responsible for Serious Violations of International Humanitarian Law Committed in the Territory of the Former Yugoslavia since 1991 (hereinafter referred to as “the International Tribunal”) shall function in accordance with the provisions of the present Statute.
Having been established by an Agreement between the United Nations and the Government of Sierra Leone pursuant to Security Council resolution 1315 (2000) of 14 August 2000, the Special Court for Sierra Leone (hereinafter "the Special Court") shall function in accordance with the provisions of the present Statute.
Having been established by an Agreement between the United Nations and the Lebanese Republic (hereinafter “the Agreement”) pursuant to Security Council resolution 1664 (2006) of 29 March 2006, which responded to the request of the Government of Lebanon to establish a tribunal of an international character to try all those who are found responsible for the terrorist crime which killed the former Lebanese Prime Minister Rafiq Hariri and others, the Special Tribunal for Lebanon (hereinafter “the Special Tribunal”) shall function in accordance with the provisions of this Statute.
First Geneva Convention, 1949
Second Geneva Convention, 1949
Third Geneva Convention, 1949
Fourth Geneva Convention, 1949
Protocol I additional to the Geneva Conventions, 1977
Protocol II additional to the Geneva Conventions, 1977
Protocol III additional to the Geneva Conventions, 2005
Law on the Establishment of the Extraordinary Chambers, with inclusion of amendments as promulgated on 27 October 2004 (NS/RKM/1004/006).
Law on the establishment of Extraordinary Chambers in the Courts of Cambodia for the prosecution of crimes committed during the period of Democratic Kampuchea.
The purpose of this law is to bring to trial senior leaders of Democratic Kampuchea and those who were most responsible for the crimes and serious violations of Cambodian penal law, international humanitarian law and custom, and international conventions recognized by Cambodia, that were committed during the period from 17 April 1975 to 6 January 1979.
This website is a guide for researchers and legal practitioners seeking information on Supreme Court decisions from around the World. It gives access to decisions in 129 countries, or a way of finding them.
The Hague Justice Portal has served as a virtual gateway to information, news, and research activities in, and related to, The Hague for over a decade. It was initiated by The Hague Academic Coalition and officially launched by Her Royal Highness Princess Margriet of the Netherlands on 6 April 2006.
At this website you may find case law from the International Criminal Court (ICC) and a commentary to the Rome Statute. The ICL Database & Commentary aims to provide scholars, as well as practitioners, a starting point for legal research in the field of International Criminal Law.
The International Justice Resource Center (IJRC) shares essential information, skills and support with local advocates around the world to help them achieve justice and accountability for human rights violations.
IJRC will be a leading resource for research, litigation support, and education in human rights law; its work will enable practitioners to effectively incorporate human rights norms into their advocacy, allow the general public to understand the legal framework for the protection of their human rights, and advance respect for the rule of law and the universality of human rights guarantees.
Listing one case in progress; 45 completed cases, 17 cases pending on appeal, and 10 acquittals; 2 cases where the accused died prior to the completion of the case; 4 cases transferred to national jurisdiction; 2 cases when indictment was withdrawn; and 7 cases where the defendant was released after serving the sentence.
Case 001 is the first case before the ECCC. Kaing Guek Eav alias Duch, the former Chairman of the Khmer Rouge S-21 Security Center in Phnom Penh, is the defendant in Case 001.
Case 002: There are four defendants in Case 002: * Nuon Chea, aged 84, former Deputy Secretary of the Communist Party of Kampuchea; * Ieng Sary, aged 85, former Deputy Prime Minister for Foreign Affairs; * Khieu Samphan, aged 79, former Head of State; and * Ieng Thirith, aged 78, former Minister of Social Affairs.
The following information relates only to indictments issued in relation to the Ad Hoc Human Rights Court in Indonesia, and only for cases from East Timor. The accused listed below cannot be assumed guilty unless it has been decided by a court of law.
The Statute of the Iraqi Special Tribunal (in Arabic and English)
The Supreme Iraqi Criminal Tribunal Law Number 10 of 2005 (in Arabic and English)
Rules of Procedure and Collection of Evidence for the Supreme Iraqi Criminal Tribunal (In Arabic and English)
The Iraqi Penal Code Number 111 of 1969 (English translation)
The Public Prosecution Law Number 159 of 1979 (English translation)
Iraqi Criminal Procedure Code Law Number 23 of 1971 (in Arabic and English)
15-volume series summarizing the course of the more important proceedings taken against individuals accused of war crimes during World War II, excluding the major war criminals tried by the Nuremberg and Tokyo International Military Tribunals.
Adopted by the General Assembly Resolution 58/4 of 31 October 2003. In accordance with article 68 (1) of GA Res. 58/4, the United Nations Convention against Corruption entered into force on 14 December 2005.
Adopted by General Assembly Resolution 55/25 of 15 November 2000. It opened for signature by Member States at a High-level Political Conference convened for that purpose in Palermo, Italy, on 12-15 December 2000 and entered into force on 29 September 2003.
A legally-binding instrument committing States which ratify it to taking a series of measures against transnational organized crime. These include the creation of domestic offenses to combat the problem, the adoption of new, sweeping frameworks for mutual legal assistance, extradition, law enforcement cooperation and technical assistance and training.
Adopted by the Conference for the Adoption of a Convention against Illicit Traffic in Narcotic Drugs and Psychotropic Substances in 1988 in Vienna. It entered into force on 11 November 1990, in accordance with article 29(1).
This Convention provides comprehensive measures against drug trafficking, including provisions against money laundering and the diversion of precursor chemicals. It provides for international cooperation through, for example, extradition of drug traffickers, controlled deliveries and transfer of proceedings.
Full text available in Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Russian, and Spanish.
Text adopted by the International Law Commission at its fifty-third session, in
2001, and submitted to the General Assembly as a part of the Commission’s report
covering the work of that session (A/56/10). The report, which also contains
commentaries on the draft articles, appears in the Yearbook of the International Law
Commission, 2001, vol. II, Part Two, as corrected.
Text adopted by the International Law Commission at its sixth session, in 1954, and submitted to the General Assembly as a part of the Commission’s report covering the work of that session (at para. 54).
The report, which also contains commentaries on some of the draft articles, appears in Yearbook of the International Law Commission, 1954, vol. II. The commentaries on the remaining draft articles are reproduced in Yearbook of the International Law Commission, 1951, vol. II, at para. 59ff.
Text adopted by the International Law Commission at its forty-eighth session, in 1996, and submitted to the General Assembly as a part of the Commission’s report covering the work of that session (at para. 50).
Text of the 1996 Draft Code with commentary, an abstract, an analytical guide, and the 1954 Draft Code.
The report, which also contains commentaries on the draft articles, appears in Yearbook of the International Law Commission, 1996, vol. II, Part Two.
Available in English and French.
Human trafficking is the acquisition of people by improper means such as force, fraud or deception, with the aim of exploiting them.
Smuggling migrants involves the procurement for financial or other material benefit of illegal entry of a person into a State of which that person is not a national or resident.
Since 1963, the international community has elaborated 14 universal legal instruments and four amendments to prevent terrorist acts. Those instruments were developed under the auspices of the United Nations and its specialized agencies and the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) and are open to participation by all Member States.
In 2005, the international community also introduced substantive changes to three of these universal instruments to specifically account for the threat of terrorism; on 8 July of that year States adopted the Amendments to the Convention on the Physical Protection of Nuclear Material, and on 14 October they agreed to both the Protocol of 2005 to the Convention for the Suppression of Unlawful Acts against the Safety of Maritime Navigation and the Protocol of 2005 to the Protocol for the Suppression of Unlawful Acts against the Safety of Fixed Platforms Located on the Continental Shelf.
Two more legal instruments were added in 2010: the 2010 Convention on the Suppression of Unlawful Acts Relating to International Civil Aviation and the 2010 Protocol Supplementary to the Convention for the Suppression of Unlawful Seizure of Aircraft.
The Convention was adopted and opened for signature by the United Nations Conference for the Adoption of a Protocol on Psychotropic Substances, held at Vienna from 11 January to 21 February 1971. The Conference was convened pursuant to resolution 1474 (XLVIII)1 of 24 March 1970 of the Economic and Social Council of the United Nations.