This is the "ARCHIVES AT PACE LAW LIBRARY" page of the "Pace Law Library Archival Collections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Pace Law Library Archival Collections  

The Archives at Pace Law Library contains several collections of papers of interest to legal researchers and lawyers.
Last Updated: Apr 25, 2014 URL: http://libraryguides.law.pace.edu/archivalcollections Print Guide RSS Updates
ARCHIVES AT PACE LAW LIBRARY Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

ARCHIVES STAFF AND POLICIES

Gail Whittemore, J.D., M.L.S.                                    Alyson Carney
Pace Law School Archivist                                        Pace Law Library
Pace Law Library                                                        (914) 422-4137
78 North Broadway, White Plains, NY 10603
(914) 422-4357
Send Email

Lorraine Chun Ng, M.L.S.
Pace Law Library
(914) 422-4533
Send Email.

Pace Law School Archives serve the law school and the legal community by collecting, preserving, and providing access to primary source materials that have been donated by judges and legal scholars. It is necessary to make an appointsment to use the Archives and Special Collections. Services of this department are only available by special arrangement with the archivist.  Please contact Gail Whittemore to arrange access.

The researcher is responsible for the careful handling of all materials made available. Materials are to be maintained in the order in which they are received by the researcher. Pace Law School Archives may permit limited reproduction of materials when such duplication does not violate donor agreements and when it may be done without damaging original materials. Copies may be made for research and reference only. It is the responsibility of the researcher to determine any copyright restrictions on, and obtain necessary authorization for, copying and/or other use of the materials. All items researchers wish to photocopy must be shown to a staff member before photocopying.

 

PACE LAW SCHOOL ARCHIVES

The Pace Law School Archives gathers and makes accessible the historical record of materials developed at Pace Law School. The collection includes publications, photographs, audio, and video recordings of lectures, symposia, and other Law School events, and artifacts.

Link to Finding Aid for Pace Law School Archives.

 

PAPERS OF WINIFRED ARMSTRONG

Winifred Armstrong, an international economist, coordinated and helped plan the contributions of the U.S. business community to the 1972 United Nations Conference on Human Environment, which established the first global pollution control standards.

Link to the Finding Aid for the Winifred Armstrong Papers.

 

PAPERS OF THE HON. JOHN CAREY, J.S.C., WESTCHESTER CO. NY

Judge John D. Carey presided over many civil and criminal cases during his tenure as a judge of the Supreme Court, Westchester County, New York, notably the murder trials of Carolyn Warmus.

Link to the Finding Aid for the Hon. John Carey Archives.

 

PACE LAW SCHOOL LIBRARY

 

DAVID SIVE ENVIRONMENTAL COLLECTION

The David Sive Environmental Collection contains litigation files of pioneering cases by the "father" of modern environmental law. The collection was created with the aid of a grant from the New York State Archives and Records Administration.

Link to the Finding Aid for the David Sive Environmental Collection.

     

    ANN POWERS - CHESAPEAKE BAY FOUNDATION, INC.

    In 1984, the Chesapeake Bay Foundation, for which Pace Professor Ann Powers was counsel, instituted a citizen suit against Gwaltney of Smithfield, Ltd., a meat processor, for discharge of pollution into the Chesapeake Bay. The case went to the U.S. Supreme Court and clarified the law of citizen suits under the environmental protection laws of the United States.

    Link to Finding Aid for the Chesapeake Bay Foundation, Inc. v. Gwaltney of Smithfield, Ltd., archive.

     

    LEONARD B. SAND, U.S.D.J., S.D.N.Y., COLLECTION

    The Honorable Leonard B. Sand, a senior judge on the U.S. District Court for the Southern District of New York, generously donated a selection of his papers to Pace Law School Archives. These papers include volumes of the Harvard Law Review published while Judge Sand was a member and Note Editor, as well as copies of briefs written when Judge Sand was an Assistant U.S. Attorney for the Southern District of New York, an Assistant to the U.S. Solicitor General, and in private practice. The collection also contains documents used and annotated by Judge Sand, who represented the appellants, in an important New York reapportionment case, W.M.C.A., Inc. v. Lomenzo, 377 U.S. 633 (1964), including recordings of the oral argument before the U.S. Supreme Court. Also in the collection are bound copies of district court opinions written by Judge Sand from 1983 to 2010. Several of these opinions were written in United States v. Yonkers Board of Education, in which Judge Sand determined that the Yonkers, New York, school system had violated the civil rights of  students in its schools, and ordered a detailed school desegregation plan. In that litigation, Judge Sand appointed Joseph M. Pastore, whose papers are also in the Pace Law School Archives, to monitor the desegregation process of the Yonkers schools.

    Link to the Finding Aid for the Judge Leonard B. Sand Collection:

     

    YONKERS DESEGREGATION ARCHIVE

    In 1989, Joseph M. Pastore was appointed by the Hon. Leonard B. Sand, United States District Court for the Southern District of New York, to oversee the Monitoring and Settlement Process in the desegregation case filed by the United States against the City of Yonkers and the Yonkers Board of Education.

    Link to the Finding Aid for the Yonkers Archive.

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip